As a foreign national entering Malaysia you must possess a valid passport or travel document valid for a minimum of six months beyond the period you intend to stay. Your passport must be presented at all entry points when you travel between Peninsular Malaysia and the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak.

Some of you may not require a visa for short social or business visits in accordance with visa-exemption agreements, and/or principles of reciprocity. Please check the tables below or with the Malaysian Representative Office (e.g. Embassy or High Commission) in your home country. Others must obtain a visa prior to entering the country by applying at any Malaysian Representative Office abroad.

If there is no Malaysian Representative Office in your country, applications can be made at the British Embassy/High Commissioner’s Office.

Below are the documents you require to apply for a Malaysian visa :

1) Original passport

2) Two (2) photocopies of passport

3) Two (2) photocopies of visa application form  (Form IMM.47)

4) Two (2) passport-size photographs of applicant

5) Original air ticket and two (2) photocopies (confirmed return tickets)

6) Payment of visa fee

7) Bank statement/traveler’s cheques (for visa without reference)

8) Invitation letter (if any)

If you’re from Chennai and New Delhi, India, or Shanghai, China, applications can be made online via the  I – Visa System.

Visa requirements by country are detailed in the tables below :

Countries that require Visa

  • Afghanistan (Visa With Reference)
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh (Commonwealth)
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon (Commonwealth)
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo Democratic Republic
  • Congo Republic
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Equat. Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia

  • Ghana (Commonwealth)
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Hong Kong (C/I or D/I)
  • India
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mozambique (Commonwealth)
  • Myanmar (normal passport)
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria (Commonwealth)
  • Pakistan (Commonwealth)
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia & Montenegro
  • Sri Lanka (Commonwealth)
  • Taiwan
  • United Nations (Laissez Passer)
  • Western Sahara

Countries under Visa exemption agreements:

Country/Period (Days)

  • Albania/90
  • Algeria/90
  • Argentina/90
  • Australia/90
  • Austria (Vienna)/90
  • Bahrain/90
  • Belgium/90
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina/90
  • Brazil/90
  • Croatia/90
  • Cuba/90
  • Czech Republic/90
  • Denmark/90
  • Egypt/90
  • Finland/90
  • France/90
  • Germany/90
  • Hungary/90
  • Iceland/90
  • Ireland/90
  • Italy/90
  • Japan/90
  • Jordan/90
  • Kirgystan/90
  • Kuwait/90
  • Kyrgyz Republic/90
  • Lebanon/90
  • Lienchestien/90
  • Luxembourg/90
  • Morocco/90
  • Netherland/90
  • Norway/90
  • Oman/90
  • Peru/90
  • Poland/90
  • Qatar/90
  • Romania/90
  • St Marino/90
  • Saudi Arabia/90
  • Slovakia/90
  • South Korea/90
  • Spain/90
  • Sweden/90
  • Switzerland/90
  • Tunisia/90
  • Turkey/90
  • Turkmenistan/90
  • United Arab Emirates/90
  • United Kingdom/90
  • Uruguay/90
  • Yemen/90
  • Armenia/30
  • Azerbaijan/30
  • Barbados/30
  • Belarus/30
  • Benin/30
  • Bolivia/30
  • Bulgaria/30

  • Cambodia/30
  • Cape Verde/30
  • Chad/30
  • Chile/30
  • Costa Rica/30
  • Equador/30
  • El Savador/30
  • Estonia/30
  • Gabon/30
  • Georgia/30
  • Greece/30
  • Guatemala/30
  • Guinea Republic/30
  • Haiti/30
  • Honduras/30
  • Hong Kong SAR/30
  • Kazakhstan/30
  • Latvia/30
  • Lithuania/30
  • Macao SAR/30
  • Macedonia/30
  • Madagascar/30
  • Maldova/30
  • Mauritania/30
  • Mexico/30
  • Monaco/30
  • Mongalia/30
  • Nicaragua/30
  • North Korea/30
  • North Yemen/30
  • Panama/30
  • Paraguay/30
  • Portugal/30
  • Russia/30
  • Sao Tome & Principe/30
  • Senegal/30
  • Slovenia/30
  • Sudan/30
  • Surinam/30
  • Tajikistan/30
  • Togo/30
  • Ukraine/30
  • Upper Volta/30
  • Uzbekistan/30
  • Vatican City/30
  • Vanezuela/30
  • Zaire/30
  • Zimbabwe/30
  • Iran/15
  • Iraq/14
  • Libya/14
  • Macao (Travel Permit/Portugal CI)/14
  • Palestine/14
  • Sierra Leone/14
  • Somalia/14
  • South Yemen/14
  • Syria/14

No visa is required for citizens of the U.S.A visiting Malaysia for social, business or academic purposes (except for employment).

No visa is required for a stay of less than one month for nationals of all ASEAN countries except Myanmar. For a stay exceeding one month, a visa will be required, except for nationals of Brunei and Singapore.

For citizens of Israel, a visa is required and permission must be granted from the Malaysia’s Internal Security Ministry.

For citizens of Serbia and Republic of Montenegro, a visa is required and permission must be granted from the Home Affairs Ministry.

Visa on Arrival

You can obtain a visa at several points of entry. The ‘Visa on Arrival’ facility is available to all foreign visitors entering Malaysia on a social visit, excepting citizens of Angola, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea Bissau, Ghana, Liberia, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Western Sahara, Israel, Republic of Serbia, Republic of Montenegro, and Colombia.

However, if you’re a citizen of one of the countries listed above but possess a valid working permit in Singapore, you immediately become eligible for the ‘Visa on Arrival’ facility. It is available at the following points of entry :

1) Kuala Lumpur International Airport

2) Kuching International Airport, Sarawak

3) Kota Kinabalu International Airport, Sabah

4) Pulau Pinang International Airport, Pulau Pinang

5) Senai International Airport, Johor

6) Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar, Tanjung Kupang, Johor

The fee for visa on arrival is RM100. The Social Visit Pass issued under this facility is valid for 30 days. Extensions are not allowed.